Make garments from Woven Squares

Almost 15 years ago I joined 3 pin loom woven squares and made a sweater!

I already knew how to crochet, I had made several clothes, so I could understand its constructive logic: crocheting the body shape.

So joining woven squares, without thinking much about how they would wrap around the body (plus increase and/or decreasing stitches), and suddenly making a garment, seemed to be the most fantastic (and perhaps dummiest) technique in the world!

And that’s how I ventured to build several square looms, in various sizes. Then rectangles, also triangles.

I wove many many pieces and then, when I got tired, I played with them to see what garment I could make.

Incredibly free, fun and therapeutic!

Because it’s ok to plan and do the math. It’s something I also like to do sometimes when I knit garments.

But let myself be carried away by yarns and colors, pin loom in hand (perhaps a Netflix series in front of me) and start weaving without planning too much, is like paradise..

TRY AND FAILURE

Each new garment could be innovative, creative and fit as well on the body as if it had been carefully designed in 3D software.

..or just horrible.

..or very loose.

..or even too thick and rough!

Each resulting garment was something completely unexpected!

The greatest pleasure when I finished each one was trying it on to see what I gave life to: a princess or a frog..

REUSE

But there is nothing to undo, because with this technique the frog always becomes king!

Simply unstitch the joined pieces and give them a twist, another shape. It’s nothing more than playing, like little girls!

At worst, I could saved the pieces for a patchwork blanket or turned them into home accessories for my daughter’s Barbies.

Because we are not talking about misshapen pieces, which would be an arm and part of the neck or half a sleeve, when you knit or crochet.

We are talking about perfect and finished geometric figures! The starting point for countless objects and garments to create!

ORIGINAL DESIGNS

And it is precisely the magic of joining woven pieces that surround the body and not of knitting to copy its shape (increasing and/or decreasing stitches) what makes this technique so different from knit or crochet.

By wrapping the body with geometric figures, they behave differently depending on each curve, each straight line, each angle of the body, which gives life to unique garments.

Likewise, since each body is different, they look different on each person.

Yes, it is possible to increase or decrease the sizes of the pieces and make garments larger or smaller, but it affects both ways, width and length, so the garments are not simply scalable for different sizes. It may change its shape a little when trying to adapt them to other sizes.

Result?

We become experts in the size we work with the most. In my case, in myself.

In fact, since that time I have had a size 42 mannequin (Roberta), on which I try out the woven pieces, test, sew and unstitch until I find the shape I like the most.

Once there it has been sufficiently tested, I try it on and see if, in addition to looking good, it fits me.

And that’s it!

MINI SQUARES

What I find easy and fun as well, and I have mentioned in other posts, is the possibility of making small models before launching into a full-scale design.

Play with mini squares, cut from fabric (not elastic), ideally 4×4″.

These help me imagine shapes for future garments.

They fit perfectly on a mini mannequin I have (Roberta Jr.), but also on barbies! So from time to time I borrow some from my daughter and try new designs.

Once achieved, in a mockup, I transfer them to a sheet of squared paper.

They become my templates for future projects, which I save for when I’m out of ideas.

MORE THAN 50 DESIGNS

To date I have created more than 50 different clothing designs.

I sold many of them in my Etsy store, when I used to sell finished designs. Others were saved as examples, others I gave away, others I wear to this day, with great affection.

I have only turned a small part of them into patterns and that is what I want to tell you in this post.

This coming January 10, 2024, I am launching the first pattern of the TOPS Subscription, in which you can receive a monthly pattern of upper/top clothing (type vest, shawl, bolero) directly in your email.

All of them are bias woven in square in looms, in some cases with basic knitted or crocheted finishing.

Each pattern will also be available in the store, but if you join the subscription, you receive each one at less than half the price, compared to the store.

I invite you to read all the details and plans!

On January 10 we begin and close the subscription for new participants, so join now to weave along a full 2024 with Ullvuna (and me)!

Go to TOPS Subscription

I hope there!

A creative hug,

Flor

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑